Candi Makeup’s Tips for the End of Year Prep

It’s official, we have 46 days to go and we begin a new year! I always find the last few months of the year a complete rush. One’s ‘to-do’ list grows with notes on holiday planning, Christmas dinners, gift ideas, end of year functions and of course finishing up work. We can often feel a little run down this time of year, which is no good considering the build up to the holidays.

I have listed my top tips in keeping those energy levels up and making sure you continue sporting a big fat grin, dammit!

Dry Body Brushing: 

Now ladies, pop down to the Dischem and buy yourself one of these body brushes. While you’re running the bath water, start at the feet and work your way up. Do this as often as possible, when you can see the skin improving drop down to twice a week. The benefits?

  • You will stimulate your lymphatic system. In your body, your lymphatic system is the system responsible for eliminating cellular waste products.
  • Increase Circulation
  • Reduce Cellulite
  • Stress Relief
  • Improve Digestion and Kidney Function
  • SMOOTHER SKIN

Warm Bath with Epson Salts:

epsomsalts

While your scrubbing with your new body brush, run the bath and pour a cup of Epsom Salts to the warm water. Submerge yourself into your Epsom Salt bath and relieve muscle tension, pain, and inflammation in the joints. The bath can alleviate tension headaches or soothe abdominal cramps. Tired and sore feet will also benefit from the therapeutic warmth of an Epsom Salt soak.

The health benefits of regular cycling include:

img_3716asej

I have always enjoyed exercising, for about 6 years now I have loved Mountain biking and Road cycling. However I would say I am more of a weekend wobbler! Non the less it keeps me fit and tanned.

Cycling really has boomed in the last few years. Below is why I encourage anyone to go buy yourself a bicycle!

  • Increased cardiovascular fitness
  • Increased muscle strength and flexibility
  • Improved joint mobility
  • Decreased stress levels
  • Improved posture and coordination
  • Strengthened bones
  • Decreased body fat levels (need I say more?)
  • Prevention or management of disease

 

Skin Care:

282815-1001088301-1

Rose de Vie by Dr Sebage: Voted ‘Best Repair Serum’ by Harper’s Bazaar 2014. I was given this beautiful silky serum from my previous employer. I use it sparingly and highly recommend regular use in the winter months! This non-greasy serum leaves a protective film to restore the skin’s suppleness, whilst maintaining a healthy condition. Organic rose hip oil, anti-ageing and anti-oxidant ingredients reduce redness, protect and smooth the skin. Ideal for dry, mature or very sensitive skin, or for women living here in the highveld no matter the age.

31r-7z0bjfl

Aloe Vera Gelly: Historically, many households kept a live aloe, or “burn plant” for first-aid use. I was doing makeup for a Malaysian client and she gave me a tube of Aloe Vera Gelly, needless to say I haven’t stopped using it. This thick and translucent Gelly contains humectants to moisturise, soothes and conditions. This product plums my skin without a greasy film, ideal for any skin. Honestly a great product for your kids and husbands. I can you a tube at R350,00 for a 117ml tube.

Green Smoothies:

I recently discovered PURE BERRY at the Bryanston Shopping Centre. They make the most devine fruit juices and smoothies. I am crazy for their “Eat your Greens” juice. It’s packed with Pineapple, Spinach, Kale, Cucumber and Mint. Ok it may not taste like a yummy Kauai Peanut bomb but the benefits are endless. I also find I have been eating less and craving less chocolates!

Health Benefits of Green Smoothies

  • Natural Weight Loss
  • Increased Consumption of Fruits and Vegetables (Particularly Greens)
  • Easy Digestibility and Nutrient Assimilation
  • Antioxidants
  • Increased Energy
  • Mental Clarity and Focus
  • Increased Fiber Intake
  • Clearer Skin

You can see where I’m going with this post, all these tips lead to healthy glowing skin. Stay healthy and you’ll see the benefits!

Leave a Reply

